Aramco Trading CEO Chairs International Selection Committee for the New Silk Road CEO Awards 2020
IndraStra Open Journal Systems
IndraStra Global

Aramco Trading CEO Chairs International Selection Committee for the New Silk Road CEO Awards 2020

Aramco Trading CEO Chairs International Selection Committee for the New Silk Road CEO Awards 2020

Ibrahim Al-Buainain, President & CEO, Aramco Trading Co., will Chair the International Selection Committee for the 4th New Silk Road CEO of the Year Awards 2020, alongside Capt. Mousa Murad, Managing Director, Port of Fujairah, and six other industry leaders from the energy Trading, Storage, Refining, Ports, and Shipping sectors.
The New Silk Road CEO of the Year Awards, founded in 2017 in partnership with the Government of Fujairah and supported by Aramco Trading, was conceived to identify and celebrate the pioneering industry leaders who are spearheading the transformation of energy markets – Trading, Refining, Storage, Shipping and Ports – across this ancient trading route connecting Asia with the Middle East & Africa, which is literally changing the direction of international energy flows.
To arrive at the final group of five winners, a group of renowned industry leaders were invited to join the International Selection Committee to independently nominate, verify and evaluate the list of 50 nominees, which they did with great competence even in this year of the pandemic.
“Much of the economic growth we have seen since Covid-19 arrived has been on these ancient trading routes from the Middle East through to China, where it would appear people are more disciplined in terms of obeying and sticking to the rules,” said Ibrahim Al-Buainain, President and CEO of Aramco Trading, and Chairman of the International Selection Committee. “Investors and traders aren’t taking a lot of bold positions this year because of the uncertainty, they’re probably staying on the sidelines, and that’s why oil prices have stagnated around $40 a barrel,” he said.
The 2020 International Selection Committee also includes Roger Chia Kim Piow, Chairman & MD, Rotary Group of Companies; Thomas Waymel, President Trading & Shipping, Total Oil Trading SA; Mike Muller, CEO & President, Vitol Asia; Datuk Md Arif Mahmood, Executive Vice President & CEO of Downstream, PETRONAS; Martin Fraenkel, President, S&P Global Platts, the world’s largest oil price reporting agency, and John Roper, CEO Middle East, Uniper Global Commodities SE.
“Given that Fujairah has been an active trader across these oceans for 500 years, it is only fitting that these 21st-century industry leaders are celebrated in partnership with this emerging global energy trading hub,” said Capt. Mousa Morad, Managing Director of the Port of Fujairah. “The New Silk Road CEO of the Year Awards are an important commitment in recognizing inspirational individuals for their work along the critical trade route of the Africa-Middle East-Asia corridor,’’ said Capt. Mousa.
China’s Belt Road Initiative is set to be the world’s largest platform for economic cooperation, trade, and financing collaboration. Reaching more than 60 countries and 4.4 billion people with a combined GDP of $21 trillion, the BRI provides the potential to redraw the global energy map through investment and development of energy infrastructure and the reemergence of global trade routes.
The Class of 2020 winners will be presented their awards during the “Global” UAE Energy Forum on January 13th, 2021, which on this occasion will be held virtually due to the COVID-19 Pandemic.

IndraStra Global is now available on
Apple NewsGoogle News, Flipboard, Feedburner, and Telegram

DISCLAIMER: The views expressed in this insight piece are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of the IndraStra Global.

COPYRIGHT: This article is published under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

REPUBLISH: Republish our articles online or in print for free if you follow these guidelines.